The Council maintains in excess of 900 kilometres of roads, with the majority of these being unsealed. It is also responsible for the maintenance and construction of township footpaths.

Unsealed Roads

Council employs a Grader Operator. Council undertakes patrol grading to endeavour to provide the travelling public with a reasonably well maintained rural road network. Council gives high priority to Main Arterial Roads and School Bus Routes wherever possible and appropriate, and gives reasonable consideration to other road lengths and classifications. The following criteria, taken from Council's General Works Policy, determines the day to day use and on going operation of Council Patrol Graders and Contract Graders under Council's control:

Road Classification

  • Main Arterial Roads
  • Primary Roads
  • Secondary Roads
  • School Bus Routes

Road Surface Conditions

  • Imminent Risk or evidence of danger to the travelling public
  • Pertinent weather conditions
  • Locality of road concerned within local road network (ie. alternative routes available)


  • Traffic Volumes (current and expected)
  • Type of Traffic

Locality of resources (Graders)

Sealed Roads

Township Roads
The townships in the District Council of Franklin Harbour have most of the streets sealed. The Port Gibbon road is unsealed.

Lucky Bay Road
The Lucky Bay road links the Lucky Bay to Wallaroo Ferry Service.  The sealing of this road was completed in September 2008.  It was made possible through Federal, SA & Local Government funding. To find out more about the Ferry Service visit their website
Cowell to Kimba Road
The road from Cowell to Kimba provides a vital link for tourism, commerce and trade between Cowell and Kimba on the Eyre Peninsula. It has gained the unanimous support of the Eyre Peninsula Local Government Association as the top regional priority for local roads on Eyre Peninsula. The Kimba Road is now a sealed road all the way from Cowell to Kimba. The sealing was completed in December 2010.

Lincoln & Birdseye Highway
The Lincoln Highway (part of Australia's National highway) runs through Cowell. The Birdseye Highway runs from Cowell to Elliston and runs though the town of Warramboo. These roads are maintained by Transport SA. For Transport SA contact details, visit their website at

Road Train Permit

Road Train Operators intending to travel through the Franklin Harbour district can obtain a map of the gazetted roads from :,+travel+and+motoring/Motoring/Heavy+vehicles/Operating+a+heavy+vehicle/Restricted+route+access
Then click on: Heavy vehicle gazette notices and approved routes

 Transport SA gazetted the district roads in November 2009. You no longer required to obtain a permit from the Council. Only roads stated on the TSA Map are for heavy vehicles. If you require any further information regarding this please feel free to contact Transport SA.

Temporary Road Closures

From time-to-time, Franklin Harbour district roads are closed in order to hold special events. If your business or community organisation would like to close a road or part of a road:

  • Put the request in writing to the Chief Executive Officer, District Council of Franklin Harbour, preferably within 2 months before the closure (this will allow enough time for the request to go before Council and a public notice to be published).
  • In your request, specify exactly which road or which portion of road you would like closed, the exact times and date/s of the road closure, and the purpose of the road closure.


If you would like to make a complaint about any district road or footpath, please contact Council's Chief Executive Officer or Works Manager.

Click to go to a printer friendly version of this page